The Truth About Twinkie Pie by Kat Yeh

twinkieThe Truth About Twinkie Pie by Kat Yeh 

About: Take two sisters making it on their own: brainy twelve-year-old GiGi (short for Galileo Galilei, a name she never says out loud) and junior-high-dropout-turned-hairstylist DiDi (short for Delta Dawn). Add a million dollars in prize money from a national cooking contest and a move from the trailer parks of South Carolina to the Gold Coast of New York. Mix in a fancy new school, new friends and enemies, a first crush, and a generous sprinkling of family secrets.

Nitya (Murphy MS Student):  The beginning seemed a little slow and boring. About a third into the book, it gets a bit interesting, and by the end you’re like, “What the heck just happened?” I feel like the ending kind of reveals a bunch of truths and secrets at once and shoves them into your face. It’s only about a couple of chapters (which aren’t very long) before that point where tension and suspense builds up. There are some unique twists to the book, but a good portion of it is your average story plot: mother dies, girl goes on an adventure and discovers something.
At the end of each chapter, there’s a different recipe for something that you can actually make at home. I thought that was pretty neat. The character development wasn’t too strong and lots of characters were flat and too ideal or stereotypical. Some things are pretty cliche, like love interests and romantic rivals and so on. The main “lesson” was a bit cheesy: family and friends are the most important thing ever. Other than that, I liked the parts leading up to the “secrets revealed,” and it did make me want to keep reading. I would recommend it if you are bored and need something to read. It does have a tiny bit of action and suspense. I would give this book a 9/10.

Anesa (MMS Student) A’s Thoughts: This was a great story about a middle school girl adjusting to a new town and friends, and there are delicious-sounding recipes with cool names  included at the end of almost every chapter. This is a perfect book for fans of Wendy Mass, and Lisa Greenwald. It’s an interesting story with a suprising twist. This book is relatable and simple, despite the characters (DiDi and Gigi/Double G/Leia/Galileo) having just won a million dollars in a cook off. They live in a small apartment above the hairdresser where Didi works, the majority of their meals contain string cheese, and they drive a beat up old car. Except Gigi is ridiculously smart and attends fancy private schools and only studies. Didi is Gigi’s older sister, and for her birthday Gigi wanted to get her the discontinued “Cherries in the Snow” lipstick that their dead mom used to wear all the time. Through her search to find the lipstick, Gigi finds out some ridiculous things about her family.

Malvika N.’s Thoughts: This book took me by surprise. At first it moved a little slow and the plot was basic. Gigi and her older sister, Didi move, she goes to a new school, runs into a boy, blah, blah, blah. But after that, it just turned strange. Nothing was like a normal book.There were so many twists and turns, it was impossible to put that book down. The cool part was that after every chapter, there was a recipe that fit into the emotions of Gigi and it made the story even more interesting. However, this story lacks much character development. Overall it’s a great book. I would rate it an 8 out of 10.

Sophia X’s Thoughts: I finished reading The Truth About Twinkie Pie and it’s really weird and the plot is kind of confusing but I still liked it.  It didn’t really mean anything to me and I don’t thinks it’s special or anything.  It’s just about a girl in 7th grade who’s really smart and she lives with her sister and she has no parents and it’s basically about what happens at her school. She meets a boy and she makes friends and she also makes enemies.

I would rate this book 6.5/10 and I would recommend this to people who are bored and have nothing to do. It’s a pretty good read and if you do decide to read this, tell me how you felt about it.

Audrey’s (SPL Teen Librarian) Thoughts: I thought this was a sweet (heh) story about a girl trying to figure out who she is and where she fits, on top of dealing with going to a private school, the upheaval from South Carolina, her relationship with DiDi, and her mother’s death. More than anything, it is a story about a 7th grader learning to not only cope, but also finding out who she is and defining herself and her relationships on her terms. The easy to create and seemingly delicious recipes at the ends of the chapters that also coordinate with GiGi’s mood was a touch I especially appreciated.

About Audviral, Mistress of the Stacks

Teen Services Librarian for the Rita & Truett Smith Public Library of Wylie, Texas.
This entry was posted in Kat Yeh, Murphy Middle School, recipes, The Truth About Twinkie Pie, TX Lone Star List 2016 Nominee and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s